D-I Independents and Newbies Summary

Here is the current pool of new NCAA Division I schools which are available for conferences in need of members (if any) (GWFC = Great West Football Conference[*1] ; UBC = United Basketball Conference[*2] , a scheduling agreement beginning play in 2006-07):

Current Full D-I Independents
IPFW (no football/Independent(UBC))
Savannah State (football/Independent)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (accepted to Southland-all sports)
Texas-Pan American (no football/Independent (UBC))

Class of ’07
UC Davis (GWFC/Big West)
Longwood (No football/Independent)
Northern Colorado (Big Sky-all sports)

Class of ’08
North Dakota State (GWFC/Independent(UBC))
South Dakota State (GWFC/Independent(UBC))

Class of ’09
New Jersey Institute of Technology (No football/Independent(UBC))
Kennesaw State (No football/Atlantic Sun)
North Florida (No football/Atlantic Sun)
Utah Valley State (No football/Independent(UBC))

Class of ’10
Central Arkansas (Southland-all sports)
Cal State Bakersfield (Independent)
Winston-Salem State (Independent)

Announced move (but haven’t turned in NCAA paperwork yet)
Florida Gulf Coast[*3]
North Carolina Central[*4]

Announced studies of D-I (Possible Class of ’11)
Francis Marion[*5]
North Dakota[*6]
Presbyterian (need link)
South Carolina-Upstate[*7]
Southern Illinois-Edwardsville[*8]

Rumored to be looking at D-I (i.e. no announced study)
St. Cloud State (need link)
Northern Kentucky (need link)

NOT going D-I (with link to announcement)
North Alabama[*9]
South Dakota[*10]